Assessment 2 Ideation

For our final photoseries I knew from quite early on that I wanted to work with how colour relates to emotion. As of last weeks’ lesson and activity on light, I found that I really enjoyed working with light and how it affects colour. These two developments have certainly framed my direction and planning for my final series of images.

In researching techniques and looking for inspiration, I created a pinterest board to collect images to further frame the direction of my narrative series.

https://www.pinterest.com.au/brionytherese95/asmt-2-colour-photoseries-inspiration/

An emotional journey

Communicating the emotional journey: Long Exposure Idea
Colour and Light Concept Ideas

Understanding that we will be depicting a narrative across each shot in our images, I wanted to look into conveying an emotional journey. However, being that there are many kinds of emotional journeys people experience across a lifetime, narrowing it down to one for this assessment has become a journey in and of itself.

With any ideation, I find a great place to start is with a good ol’ fashioned brainstorm. My ideas culminated in a mixture of both quite deep and lighthearted ideas – which has certainly not helped me narrow down my choices. However, I did find myself gravitating towards the more mundane regular emotional journeys that people experience. In my mind, these final few ideas could lend themselves to either human models, or toys. As I was initially so focused on selecting a topic and phrase, I hadn’t foreseen that choosing the subject of my images would be an equally time consuming aspect of my planning phase.

At this point, my theme ideation came down to two options that appealed to me. I decided to compare my current thoughts surrounding each theme on paper; doing so meant that I could evaluate what ideas I had for bot and decide on a topic. After doing so, I found that one idea clearly had more creative staying power than the other and have, therefore, chosen to centre my colour photoseries around the emotional journey of a week. The exact phrase is likely to need some fine tuning as this feels too long to use for this task – but you get the idea (any changes to the wording of this phrase will be updated on the blog).

Test Shots
I have taken the following images to test the light in the morning sun where I will be taking some of my photos for this shoot. I found that I preferred to use the Shade white balance setting to show the warmth of the morning sun in the area. However, this may change with the model and to convey the accurate mood and tone of certain days of the week (eg. Monday compared to Saturday or Sunday). At this stage, I think this setting is ideal for Friday, Saturday and Sunday, however for other days of the week I am likely to use the Daylight WB setting.

Using my own hand to test my aperture and light, (although it looks a bit strange) I found certain angles and areas of the house that I wanted to shoot.

The lighting in this area of my house has some great soft natural lighting that I would light to utilise in my images.

At this stage I am looking at doing 5 final shots to convey Monday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. This was because Tuesday and Thursday I don’t believe that they have any specific qualities that separate them from other days of the week for the purpose of my photoseries.
The thumbnail sketches I have above give an idea of the kinds of angles and shots that I will be looking to capture, but this is subject to change based on the lighting on the days I shoot.
Fortunately as I will be taking photos in my home of my partner, I can work around the weather, as it has been very rainy lately and this affects the light that I want to capture. Therefore I don’t have any set shoot-dates, however I want to have them completed by the middle of week 11 at the latest.

Final Phrase: the week that was

Leave a comment